Sky High Cloud Light

Length / year

7' - 1995


six pianos

Programme note

This piece is in two parts, each with modal harmony above a very simple recurring four note bass motif - A flat / F / D flat / E flat. The relationship between the bass and the harmony is constantly shifting, giving changing pandiatonic chords and textures. The first part is slow moving, the second quick and repetitive yet fluid. The title - in Chinese, 'T'ien kao yun tan' - is from a poem by Mao Tse tung, chosen because the piece is inspired, in part, by images of flying.